Home / Misc / Reviews / Review of CytoSport’s New Monster Mass!
monster-mass

Review of CytoSport’s New Monster Mass!

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)

Review of CytoSport’s New Monster Mass!

Welcome to the first of the new weekly supplement review posts! Before I get started on this week’s review, let me take a few minutes to introduce myself, and provide you a little of my background. I have always been very thin. Before I started training I weighed in at a little over 120lbs, at 6’2”. I am a true ectomorph! I have always been interested in getting bigger and stronger, ever since I saw Arnold, Van Damme and Stallone in films.

I have been training seriously for about 7 years now. My current weight is 186lbs, at about 12% body fat. I am currently cutting, so I want to get my body fat into single digits in the new few months. Over the last 7 years, I have put on around 60lbs, and have learned a lot about how to train, how to eat, and how to supplement correctly to achieve maximum gains.

In my new column on Muscle and Brawn, I will be reviewing a different supplement every week. This week I will be taking a look at CytoSport’s new Monster Mass. This new weight gainer was only released a few days ago, and I have been lucky enough to get a hold of a couple of sample packets.

Ingredients:

When I look at weight gainers, the first thing I look for is sugar content. It’s not uncommon for weight gainers to be absolutely loaded with sugar. This is an easy (and cheap) way for supplement companies to increase the calorie content of the weight gainer. Too much sugar is more likely to lead to fat gain than muscle growth. Sugar is turned into energy very quickly, and if your body can’t use it, guess where it’s going – on your waist! Monster Mass scores well here, only 6g of sugar per serving. That’s VERY low for a gainer.

Carbohydrate sources are good. Again, we don’t have much sugar. 71 grams of carbs per serving from Waxy Maize Starch and Maltodextrin.

Each serve has 50g of protein, coming from a protein blend:

•    Whey Concentrates
•    Whey Isolates
•    Isolated Milk Protein
•    Caseinates
•    Lactoferrin
•    L-Glutamine
•    Glutamine Peptides
•    Freform BCAA’s L-Valine, L-Leucine, L-Isoleucine

That’s a good mix of fast and slow digesting protein sources, making Monster Mass a very versatile gainer.

Taste:

If you’ve ever tasted Monster Milk or Muscle Milk, you’d know that CytoSport knows how to make a protein powder taste pretty darn good. No change here, Monster Mass tastes great. I tried it with both water and skim milk, both stood up to my high taste standards!

Mixability:

No problem here. I didn’t try mixing with a spoon, but Monster Mass mixed well in a shaker (around 10-15 shakes) and blender. Both with skim milk and water.

Servings:

This is Monster Mass’s downfall. There are not many servings per container. Compared to similar gainers, some give you more servings for the money. Depending on your calorie needs, you can decrease the serving size and get a few more servings. Thing to remember is, this is a high quality gainer. You get what you pay for.

Price:

At $36.99 for just under 6 pounds, it’s not bad. Not the cheapest gainer on the market, but when it comes to gainers you get what you pay for. High quality carbs, low sugar and a good protein formula make Monster Mass good value for money in my opinion.

Overall, I’m giving it a strong 8/10.

That’s it for this week. If you’ve used Monster Mass let us know what you think in the comments below! Next week I’ll be reviewing MuscleTech’s new Intra-Workout supplement, IntraVol.

Review of CytoSport’s New Monster Mass!, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating

44 comments

  1. Monster mass works great I have the biggest container you can get of it and let me tell you it’s the best protein I’ve ever used my normal weight is 145 and in just a week it’s gotten me to 156 and I’m ripped!!!!!!!! And the only down fall is keep yourself busy after drinking because it will make u feel very bloated for a while but when it goes away its all gravy and the results are even better

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  2. should i be talking this supplement if i do not want to gain fat but do want to gain muscle mass but also decrees my fat % of my body

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  3. so what should i use after and before my workouts since i have both?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  4. Hi, I was wondering what the difference was between monster MAIZE and monster MASS, I currently have both and I dont know what the best solution is to taking them. I would like to gain some muscle mass and I wanted to see if these supplements plus my workouts will work. I just dont know how to incorporate these two supplements into my daily routine.. PLease help. thanks!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Henry,

      Monster mass is a weight gainer and contains a lot of protein and calories. Maize is waxy maize, or dextrose.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  5. I just bought the 5.95 lb Monster Mass container for $47 today at GNC. Itll be great if you can tell me where i can get it for a cheaper price. Thanks!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  6. steve almstrong

    must i take monster mass imediatly after workout,or can i wait 30 min before i take it.and when is it better to take it before bed or in the worning.and after taking it how long should i wait before i eat?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Steve,

      You can take it post-workout. I generally recommend using it in between major whole food meals like your breakfast, lunch and dinner meal.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      • is it ok if i take 2 scoops in the morning or before bedtime and 2 or 3 scoops after workout.and is it ok if i take it twice a day?

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  7. Hi,

    I’m 25 year old guy and my wight is 45kg, i want to increase my weight.

    i’m not doing any training with weights at the moment. I used monster mass one month, 2 times per day with 2scope. still my weight 45kg.

    any idea why is that?

    need help.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Jerry,

      You are not eating enough daily calories to gain weight. I recommend monitoring your daily calorie intake, and adding 500 per day if you are not gaining weight to see if that helps.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      • mike you are correct,

        I’m not eating too much, at lunch I’m eating white Rice and beef. Even night also I’m eating Rice and curry with some meet. Sometimes I’m eating yogurt and fruits.

        Need some advice.

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  8. I’m 6’1 145lbs, I have some fat around my abdominal area that I’d like to lose, I’m wondering if I start taking monster mass if it’d put on more fat on my abdominal area. I want to gain mass and muscle but I want to lose the ab fat rapidly. Will this slow the process down?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Jimmy,

      Monster Mass itself won’t cause fat gain, but eating too much per day can. We would need to look at your overall daily diet. Please post this on the forum and we will give you some feedback.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  9. Is this monster mass will gain me more muscle rather than using monstet milk?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Rayan,

      Your overall daily calorie intake is the biggest factor in weight gain. If you are training hard, gains will come from eating so that you can gain. Those calories can come from anywhere. If it’s hard for you to eat enough, a weight gainer like Monster Mass will help.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  10. Im using monster milk right now and its kind a expensive to me im planning to switch on monster mass is it ok? Im 5’7 148lbs. I would say my self that im bulk but I want to gain more muscle to look more bulk.. You think this is a nice supplement?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  11. is monster mass all legal? if u get tested by WADA will u fail or is it all good?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  12. @ Mick Madden Thanx for the reply yes im been training with low weight to just pump my body….

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  13. oops i meant will

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  14. I want to Buy this Product But First Some one suggest me

    Im 19 Years Boy
    And My Weight is Around 45kgs

    http://i52.tinypic.com/33pc6br.jpg

    So This is iam

    Well this Product work for me?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • Hi Altaf,

      It definitely can help, along with a good diet. Are you training with weights at the moment or just trying to gain weight?

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  15. Rarely do I review anything but I have been so impressed thus far with Monster Mass. I have a VERY sensitive stomach and chose this gainer since is it 98% lactose free. I hoped that I wouldn’t have wasted $40 on this product and after taking it daily, I can say it has been worth every penny. Plain and simple: the taste is amazing. I used to get $4 Vivano drinks (at Starbucks) as a meal replacement, but mixed correctly this tastes better.

    For those of you with sensitive stomaches, I recommend doing what I did and easing into it. First few drinks were two scoops and 8 oz of water. You need to blend it well as if there are chunks in there it kills the enjoyment. After I noticed my body reacting just fine, I added one scoop. Again, tried 3 scoops with just water and no problems. Now, I stick with 3 scoop in the am about 15 mins after I wake up – then enjoy another 3 scoops an hour before bed.

    Just recently I tried 2.5 scoops, 4 oz of chocolate soy milk, 4 oz of water, a small handful of ice, and a half banana. Blend it together and I found the consistency perfect and I am amazed at how easy it is to finish because it tastes so good.

    Performance-wise it might be too early to tell, but I most definitely have the energy I need for my 7am workout (I drink the shake at 5:30am so it has plenty of time to digest) just from this shake. Post workout I have a bowl of oatmeal mixed with a half teaspoon of brown sugar, honey, 2 scoops of peanut butter and a handful of raisins. Also a great tasting, heathly snack.

    For what it’s worth, take my $0.02 to heart as I wouldn’t spend the time to write this unless I felt this product could benefit others like myself. Good luck in attaining the physique you desire!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  16. well i am now going to buy n i read some of the reviews n they good can not wait to get it n start to use it i about 120 n want to get size n muscle mass but i to young for most protiens but i am going to use this MONSTER MASS

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  17. @ MDJ666,

    I would drop down to one per day, and if it still upsets your stomach, switch to whole milk, almonds and natural peanut butter as a method of adding in some extra calories.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  18. Ive been takin monster mass for a week n it has made my stomach upset for the last 3 n half days n i only take it wiv water. Will my upset stomach go quicker if i just stop or shall i cut the monster mass rite down to one a day sted of 3 a day or stop all together?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  19. Just Started on Monster Mass this weekend.
    I have had no problems digesting it whatsoever.
    It’s begining of summer training so taking it everyday is a nobrainer, but
    I take it right after we workout and we only have about 10minutes in between working out and then running so time is crucial. This Gainer digests really easily but I am only using water. I think the problem for the people who are having digestion problems is they could be using milk. As well as the milk is adding another 9grams of protein (2% milk) per glass so that could be a possiblity. Overall i would recommend this to anyone wanting to gain weight.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  20. I have been taking monster mass for about 6 weeks now. I have gained 10 lbs thus far. When I started i was 162- 15.7% body fat. now 172 (havent had body fat re-tested). I do consider myself a hard “gainer” which is why i decided to use monster mass vs muscle milk or syntha-6.

    The taste is pretty good- have used both chocolate and vanilla and both are not bad. I really enjoyed the taste of syntha-6 when i took that and havent tried true mass to compare taste to monster mass (i like cyto sport and bsn products- i think they are both reputable companies and have had good results with both). I must say that i do feel bloated and pretty often upsets my stomach, but i do expect some of that with the extra protein and calories. Not sure if you can avoid that but like i said i havent tried other “gainers”. I only take 4 scoops once a day just following my workout.

    Overall, i would say that it is a good product to put on weight and gain muslce mass. I feel like my body fat is essentially unchanged but wouldnt be surprised if it did go up a little bit. I cant really comment on the price as i would certainly prefer it to be cheaper but feel it is a quality product therefore will cost more.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  21. BTW just bought some monster mass…….took first shake mixed with banana , walnuts, and 2 percent milk….feel pretty bloated from it. ill give it a couple weeks. Would have got cyto gainer which i have already used and loved but didnt want the extra creatine because im taking Cell Mass. Note to everyone: dont overload on creatine….major no no. It will destroy your kydneys.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  22. So…you think you are not currently natural because you are taking a weight gainer an NO explode? bro you are natural if thats all your taking….When someone is referring to being unnatural it insinuates that a person is taking HGH (Human Growth Hormones) pro hormones…or in some peoples opinion test boosters…your in the clear bro. Don’t stop taking protein you will see your gains disapear because your bodies ability to grow and build muscle is being fueled by the extra protein you are getting from your shakes…if you take that out of the equation catabolism will eat your gains away….as far as no explode, i dont recommend ANY pre workout supplement that is packed with caffeine , it is extremely rough on your heart and is responsible for more deaths and disease then steroid use..only because it is not regulated ( not saying that steroids arent dangerous)…..be wise…be careful….and do your research.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  23. I have been taking monster mass for a month, only taking once a day four scoops before my workout. I find its taste to be pretty good. I have only been working out for under six months and have already went from 138lbs to 152lbs. I am only 5″9. Along side taking N.O. Explode I have noticed pretty quick results in actual muscle gain and definition. I definately will continue with monster mass for at least another six months and then go natural once getting the mass I am satisfied with.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    • hello
      i see youve taken monster mas.. i just bought it two days ago.. i found it extremly sweet and rich. did u get defined from monster mass or did u get bigger but lossed definition,.. im planning to get defined (ripped) aswell as get bigger but not put on fat and not make my body fat % go higher… any suggestions? im takeing 1.5 scoops at tea. then 1.5 scoops after my workout.. help…

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  24. i really like this stuff. enough said

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  25. its not to bad tasting for a weight gainer u cant expect it to taste like muscle milk and u dont have 2 take it 3 times a day thats retarded take 2 scoops twice a day and drink it in the morning expecially cause thats when your muscles are feeding

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  26. Monster mass is a weight gainer, so where the calories come from is a minor issue. They feature protein grams because it is the industry’s buzz word.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  27. i thought your body could only take in about 24 grams of protein at a time

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  28. I think that really varies from person to person. if you are eating 5,000 calories per day, you should be adding around a pound a week.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  29. how much weight do you usually put on with this weight gainer, or any weight gainers in general

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  30. Chris thanks for your feedback.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  31. How can you say there is no change in taste?! Did you actually try it?

    VERY different taste. I’m having to cut it with 1 scoop Muscle Milk just to
    get through it.

    41% Cholesterol PER shake. How can they say use withOUT caution?
    I can’t do 3 of these a day like I can with Muscle Milk.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  32. “How do you get big lean muscle mass and lose fat?”

    Cycles. Bulk, then cut. You need periods of lifting where you are not afraid to eat extra calories, so that you pack on muscle, then you cut the fat and reveal the muscle.

    It is possible to gain muscle and lose some fat, but generally only during your first year of progressive resistance.

    The best thing to do is to focus on getting stronger through compound movements. Once you have that down, things tend to take care of themselves.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  33. Can you gain fat from Monster Mass? How do you get big lean muscle mass and lose fat?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
  34. I have just tried Monster Mass and so far think it is awesome! I have used many different weight gainers before, but this one seems to be the best one. As we all expect from CytoSport products, the taste is killer! (I love the Cake Batter and Cookies & Creme flavors).

    If you are looking for a premium weight gain formula, give MONSTER MASS a try – you will not be dissapointed.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Need help building muscle or increasing strength? Join the FORUM => CLICK HERE NOW