Muscle and Brawn Forums

Go Back   Muscle and Brawn Forums > Training > Powerlifting & Strength Training

Notices

Powerlifting & Strength Training Topics related to powerlifting and strength training.

Old 07-10-2012, 10:52 AM   #1
milo332002
milo332002
has no status.
Points: 69, Level: 1 Points: 69, Level: 1 Points: 69, Level: 1
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%

Training Exp: 18
Training Type: Wendler 531
Fav Exercise: Seated Barbell Press
Fav Supp: N/A
milo332002 has made some quality postsmilo332002 has made some quality postsmilo332002 has made some quality postsmilo332002 has made some quality postsmilo332002 has made some quality postsmilo332002 has made some quality posts
Default Newbie Here - Programming Help

Hello,

My name is Kevin and I have been lifting more or less strictly from my cellar and garage since I was in college. Now at age 39, I have made some gains of course and currently stand at 6-3, 230 lbs but I am still seeking more. I am not afraid to admit that I am still fairly weak. For the most part, I have done things simple and basic because I started training following the advice of Brooks Kubik and especially the late John Christy from the old Hardgainer newsletters. As a result, I`ve made progress over the years but I always seem to get so confused and bogged down in the details and many variations of the different 5x5 routines.

For example, John Christy advocated doing the 5x5 with 3 top sets, Brooks Kubik recommends 1 to 3 top sets, Wendler (5,3,1), which I am trying to follow now has me doing only one top set. What happens is I always switch from one style to the next or mix and match programs and lose faith in whatever current method I am doing. It seems like a nasty cycle for me.