Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/index.php)
-   Powerlifting & Strength Training (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Belts in regard to maximal lifting (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3908)

IronManlet 08-02-2010 08:02 AM

Belts in regard to maximal lifting

What are your guys' opinions on using a belt for maxing on Squats/Deadlifts? I don't want to take away from my midsection strength, so I only use a belt for my top sets; but would it be better for my overall strength if I trained without a belt on Squat/Deads? (safety reasons aside; just talking muscle strength here)

BendtheBar 08-02-2010 09:28 AM

I'm no expert but I've trained both ways, and raw as of late. I really don't notice much of a need for a belt, though I have a strong back. I have been considering a belt for 90%+ lifts.

IronManlet 08-02-2010 09:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BendtheBar (Post 73211)
I'm no expert but I've trained both ways, and raw as of late. I really don't notice much of a need for a belt, though I have a strong back. I have been considering a belt for 90%+ lifts.

My back is actually my strongest point; I have never had my back round on Squats, and my Deadlift is not bad considering how little experience I have.

I'm wondering if the belt will hamper my midsection strength in any way? If that's the case, then I'd rather train without it.

Trevor Lane 08-02-2010 09:57 AM

I only use a belt for deads, and that's because I went without once and really jacked up my back. That's a good question and I think you'll get varied answers ranging from "always use them to be safe" to "if you need the belt to lift it, that's not your max."

IronManlet 08-02-2010 10:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Trevor Lane (Post 73216)