Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/index.php)
-   Powerlifting & Strength Training (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   41 years old and looking to better myself (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16615)

Bigbri 03-14-2014 01:44 PM

41 years old and looking to better myself

Hello everyone.

This is my first time posting but I have been lurking on this excellent site for about a month now. I appreciate all of the advice that you may give me.

So, here I am, 41 years old and I have decided that, before I die I want to become strong. I'd like to look myself in the mirror and say that I was able to accomplish some of the things that I have admired powerlifters for. I'm not looking to get to a 1,000 lb deadlift or anything but I would like to reach a 300+ ib bench press, 500+ lb squat and 500+ lb deadlift.

My background: I played football in high school (fullback). I'm in the Navy, 2 years from retirement. I have lifted on and off all of my life. I'm 6' tall and weigh 235-245 lbs.

I have been using the Stronglifts 5x5 program but from what I have read on these forums, this may not be the best program for a not-quite-beginner. My current 1RMs are 205 lb bench, 320 lb squat and 350 lb deadlift.

Is there a program that might fit my experience level and goals?

Thanks again for the help.

Thorney 03-14-2014 05:04 PM

I used stronglifts when i first started out and then again when i made my comeback, it worked well. If you are making gains then I'd stick with it then progress on to 3x5 when you stall.
The madcow 5x5 intermediate program worked well for me too, similar to stronglifts but ramping sets rather then straight sets and you make weekly increases rather than each session.
531 is quite popular but it didn't work for me and therefore i don't like it.

Squatter 03-14-2014 05:14 PM