Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/index.php)
-   Powerlifting & Strength Training (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Power movements multiple times a week? (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16149)

JumpmanRugs 01-21-2014 05:27 PM

Power movements multiple times a week?

Hi guys, i am goingto catchup on my posts asap, real busy so bare with me!
Power movements, i.e Squat, Deadlift and Bench twice a week each. Opinions?

Right now its once a week each and all relatively close together around the weekend and its not ideal

Im a free agent and currently in an off season so using this time to get freaky strong, would you reccomend it or will my nervous take too much of a beating? Thanks guys!!

James_Fuller 01-21-2014 05:50 PM

doing them twice a week is fine. but not max effort both times. max effort and then a dynamic or reps day would be fine.

Mrinda87 01-21-2014 06:15 PM

Well there are a handful of successful programs doing squats 3x a week and some kind of press 3 times a week as well. I guess they are more for newer lifters but there are advancedlifters who do full body routines three times a week as well.

Davis 01-21-2014 06:23 PM

If you're using relatively light weights, there is no reason you can't be able to go max effort on all of them twice a week. Try it out.

linedriver465 01-21-2014 06:24 PM

Nothing wrong with high frequency power movements - just keep the volume in check.

BendtheBar 01-21-2014 06:51 PM

Squats and bench work better multiple times per week, but you have to keep the daily volume in check.

I found little benefit to deadlifting multiple times per week.

There is a balance between volume, intensity and frequency that must be found for each lifter.

afraziaaaa 01-21-2014 09:01 PM