Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/index.php)
-   Powerlifting & Strength Training (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Some Back-up (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10320)

Off Road 06-19-2012 03:49 PM

Some Back-up

I've been saying this very thing for many years now and I've been "blasted" for it on many occassions (not on this forum). Now, it's nice to have a little back-up from a big name in the industry...

"A raw novice's time would be better spent doing bodyweight training. You should be able to perform 100 push-ups, minimum, before even approaching a bench press. Add in pull-ups, lunges, and the other bodyweight staples to complete the program.

After a decent base of bodyweight strength has been developed, I'd next perform a sensible linear progression routine until respectable strength levels are achieved. 5/3/1 by my friend Jim Wendler and Starting Strength by Mark Rippetoe would fit the bill perfectly, with assistance work programmed to target any emerging weak points in size and strength.

However, after a certain threshold of development – say a 1.5 x bodyweight bench press, a 2 x bodyweight squat, and a 2.5 x bodyweight deadlift – it's time to step it up."

-Dave Tate

Kuytrider 06-19-2012 03:54 PM

I also think a novice would do well to learn really good technique using just the bar and perhaps a few added pounds.
But yeah, for teens especially but all novices, patience and bodyweight exercises are good stuff.

glwanabe 06-19-2012 04:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kuytrider (Post 252411)
I also think a novice would do well to learn really good technique using just the bar and perhaps a few added pounds.
But yeah, for teens especially but all novices, patience and bodyweight exercises are good stuff.

Totally agreed!

Learn to lift the bar first, and then when ready add in some squat racks.

Don't be in a rush to bench.