Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Training Logs (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Squatter's Journal-The Good, The Bad & The Ugly (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5630)

Squatter 03-12-2011 06:09 PM

Squatter's Journal-The Good, The Bad & The Ugly

Firstly, I would like to thank everyone for the warm welcome here. Finally have some time to start my journal here. First, a brief history of me. I have been lifting recreationally for over 20 years. I was ready to quit last year until I met LtL. He convinced me to start a journal at M&S and the rest is history. I have been enjoying the best progression of my life since both weight-wise and form-wise.

A few facts for those that do not know me. I have Celiac Disease which means I cannot eat anything that contains Gluten. Gluten is found in wheat, rye, and barley. That's right, no Beer and Pizza for me. When I went gluten-free on my 40th birthday, I also quit drinking and smoking on the same day and have not looked back since. Going gluten-free was the hardest part. I also decided I might as well clean up my diet at the same time. I have not eaten any junk, processed, or fast food since, other than a piece of gluten free cake on birthdays. Being gluten free is tough enough, so I do not count calories. never have and never will.

Secondly, I do wear straps on deadlifts. I do so due to a medical condition. I suffer from Benign Hand Tremors. Sometimes I cannot even sign my name my hands shake so much. This in turn affects my grip - I never know whether or not my grip will show up on any given day, as the severity of my tremors fluctuates. For this reason, I don't think I will ever be able to compete.

So, enough of the bad news and on to the good. I recently did new 1 RM's. I am currently on Wendler's 5/3/1 and just started cycle 6. Here are the vids of my new 1 RM's:

Push Press: 190 lbs

Squat: 405 lbs