Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Powerlifting & Strength Training (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Form and Weight (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7012)

BendtheBar 08-10-2011 10:11 AM

Form and Weight

Which lift has presented the greatest form challenges for you as a novice, and now that the weight is much heavier?

Abaddon 08-10-2011 10:15 AM

bench

but only coz I'm still a novice at squat and deadlift

Off Road 08-10-2011 10:17 AM

Without question it is the squat. It's just so easy to break form when using high percentages of your 1RM and trying to get depth.

BendtheBar 08-10-2011 10:19 AM

Mine is squat. While bench has been challenging, heavy, heavy squats have given me fits. I spent nearly 6 months a couple years back battling an eccentric that felt like I was lowering a bulldozer.

On the other hand, deadlifts are like butter for me. My form always feels natural.

Aurik 08-10-2011 10:25 AM

For me it's all of the "big 3". I'm pretty certain that form issues are holding me back from making some significant gains on those. I'll be video'ing myself more often to try to figure out where exactly I'm going wrong.

Fazc 08-10-2011 10:31 AM

Bench Press. Which is always surprising to hear for people who haven't known me since I started lifting. I have Benched around 350lbs raw but I was actually stuck with a 200-220lbs max for the first 4 years of training, while my Squat and Deadlift shot up.

Currently i'd say it's the Deadlift, I still haven't fully figured it out.

BendtheBar 08-10-2011 10:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fazc (Post 160305)
I was actually stuck with a 200-220lbs max for the first 4 years of training, while my Squat and Deadlift shot up.

I would be curious to learn more about how your bench did finally improve. Sorry if this was addressed before.

glwanabe 08-10-2011 10:53 AM