Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/index.php)
-   Powerlifting & Strength Training (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Muscle and Strength Building Myths (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3608)

BendtheBar 06-22-2010 10:42 AM

Muscle and Strength Building Myths

What muscle and strength building myths drive you crazy/annoy you?

big_swede 06-22-2010 10:58 AM

Dont know if its exactly a myth but lots of people seems to ask the question "why dont i grow? i do exactly as written in this or that program, im eating good! (chicken n veggies 2 times a day and 2000cal a day is not good jack ass!) but im still benching 3x8 145lbs and ive been lifting for 3 years now! How can this be?", people need to man the f*ck up and realise that half the work is done outside the gym, in bed and by the dinner table! AND lift some heavy ass weight! Got carried away here but as you can se this annoys me =)

BendtheBar 06-22-2010 11:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by big_swede (Post 64906)
Dont know if its exactly a myth but lots of people seems to ask the question "why dont i grow? i do exactly as written in this or that program, im eating good! (chicken n veggies 2 times a day and 2000cal a day is not good jack ass!) but im still benching 3x8 145lbs and ive been lifting for 3 years now! How can this be?", people need to man the f*ck up and realise that half the work is done outside the gym, in bed and by the dinner table! AND lift some heavy ass weight! Got carried away here but as you can se this annoys me =)

I see that issue quite a bit as well. You're exactly right...most issues boil down to eating and lifting more.

IronManlet 06-22-2010 11:18 AM

Powerlifters are only strong because of their fat.

Size = strength

Everyone has a genetic limit on their strength gains.

Somatotypes are a good indicator of how you should train/how your body will respond to training.