Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/index.php)
-   Powerlifting & Strength Training (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   If you want to be a powerlifter (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3264)

knudci 05-14-2010 10:10 AM

If you want to be a powerlifter

If you want to be a powerlifter should you train like a bodybuilder for a while or doing something else to get strong right away?

ricka182 05-14-2010 11:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by knudci (Post 56153)
If you want to be a powerlifter should you train like a bodybuilder for a while or doing something else to get strong right away?

I'm no expert, but I say train for what you want to do. If you want to be strong, train to be strong. Most powerlifters aren't the most sculpted examples of their work...but they can probably bench the top 10 bodybuilders with ease.. BB'ers on the other hand only need to look good. Not saying they are weak, but I'd put my money on a powerlifter anyday to outpress most BB'ers...

Marc 05-14-2010 11:46 AM

I wouldnt start off with bodybuilding type training. I did this, not exactly but for the most part. Ended up having to re-learn how to bench and squat and everything else once I started on a powerlifting program with some guys who really coached me and showed me proper form, technique etc for powerlifting.

BendtheBar 05-14-2010 02:38 PM

I would stick with core basic exercises, but would stick in rep ranges 5+ until you build up some strength.

jslep 05-14-2010 03:13 PM

if by train like a bodybuilder you mean isolation movements mostly this is not the route i would go for powerlifting strength. i would do something like big 3 with assistance iso's after doing them. never do the iso's first only after a complete compound for the day has been done. either bench dead or squat.

Marc 05-14-2010 04:03 PM