Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Powerlifting & Strength Training (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Let it sink in (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=14872)

Mr.Silverback 09-03-2013 08:29 PM

Let it sink in
 
Question about sinking the bar in your chest...the way Dan green does...is that legal? I've noticed myself being a victim of this in training once I'm around 450-475. Any thoughts on this?

GT Barbell

fenrisulfr 09-03-2013 08:37 PM

I saw that vid where he's training and does that. I figured it was just a touch and go type deal. That or Dan Green doesn't use a slingshot, Dan Green is a slingshot.

zach90 09-03-2013 08:46 PM

he does it in comp so it must be. at least in the feds he competes in

BendtheBar 09-03-2013 09:09 PM

I saw Burley Hawk doing it at his meet. It almost looked like a pause and bro bounce. Curious to see Dan's bench. Have a video of this?

KD5NFW 09-03-2013 09:22 PM

It's not supposed to be legal but you know how that goes. Ask Squatter about letting the bar sink into his chest. Earned himself some red lights :D

MikeM 09-03-2013 09:50 PM

It's apparently legal in USAPL which is pretty strict, or at least I watched a few guys who used the technique openly and got away with it. I think the key is to lower all the way into your chest and stop completely then have the bar go only up at the press command. I've seen some people not control the bar and dip it down into their chest after the press command which is a no no, or have their chest come up but the bar not move, so it looks like it dips which is also a no no. The bar has to be under control at all times and only move up after the press.

A guy in my flight was really good at it and he explained to me why he does it. He said he lowers an inch or so into his chest, then at the press command he drives and flexs his chest muscles which is supposed to break the inertia of the bar by pushing it out of his chest, thereby getting a nudge on the bar to help get it started. Seemed to work well for him. He pressed 335@198

KD5NFW 09-03-2013 10:20 PM

From NASA's rulebook:

Causes for Disqualification of a Bench Press

4. Heaving or bouncing the bar off the chest.
5. Allowing the bar to sink into the chest after receiving the Chief Referee's signal.

Seems maybe there is a fine line between those two rules where it could be sunk into the chest and still be a good lift? I guess it depends on the definition of "heaving".

IainK 09-04-2013 12:15 PM

You can sink the bar into the chest as part of your downward movement prior to the press comand. Any downward movement after the press command is cause for a 'no lift'.

I don't see why you should be expected to hover the bar just touching the chest and not allowing any indentation in the chest :)

Beverly McD 09-04-2013 12:40 PM

In the APF you can let it sink in as far as you choose to.
Once you stop the downward motion you get the press command. At that point the bar is only allowed to move up.
You can expand your chest to give yourself some drive off of your chest (bar moves up from this).
But, after the command, you cannot dip the bar once more into the chest (downward movement) and then drive it up. That would be considered a "heave".

KD5NFW 09-04-2013 01:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Beverly McD (Post 404671)
In the APF you can let it sink in as far as you choose to.
Once you stop the downward motion you get the press command. At that point the bar is only allowed to move up.
You can expand your chest to give yourself some drive off of your chest (bar moves up from this).
But, after the command, you cannot dip the bar once more into the chest (downward movement) and then drive it up. That would be considered a "heave".

Thanks for the clarification on this :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.