Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Powerlifting & Strength Training (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   My Full Body Workout (Proposed) (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12900)

Bronco 03-15-2013 04:06 PM

My Full Body Workout (Proposed)

1 Attachment(s)
So I'm trying to become a good powerlifter. i've been running 5/3/1 for a few months but I think I could get more out of a full body workout at this point. I'm not very strong yet and I think I need to be doing the big lifts more than once a week. How does this program look? I'm thinking of doing a progression on the big lifts on heavy days kind of like 5/3/1. 3 week cycles then add 5lbs, reset when necessary.

my proposed routine is attached.

leefarley 03-15-2013 04:20 PM

cant see it, print is to small to read.

CZERWIEC 03-15-2013 04:42 PM

if you want to know about full body training get a book called: the complete keys to progress by John McCallum, just a ton of information plus its a fun book to read

Soldier 03-15-2013 04:54 PM

Looks like a solid plan to me. I'm not sure about all the machine work for legs. I'd rather do some squat variations, but the machines will work to if thats the way you want to go.

You're using lots of percentages, which is good. It's good to have quantifiable data to use when monitoring your results and tweaking your program, or choosing a new program altogether.

Off Road 03-15-2013 05:17 PM

How much do you press, bench, squat and deadlift?

MikeM 03-15-2013 05:47 PM

I like the plan in general. I see what you're doing.

That said, if I was going for powerlifting totals, I'd up those percentages somewhere. The most you're doing is 85% for 8 sets of 3 if I'm reading that right. That's great volume, but you will need some sets above 90% somewhere along the line to keep getting stronger.