Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Muscle Building and Bodybuilding (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   How long should your workouts be? (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8208)

seth78 12-12-2011 08:50 PM

How long should your workouts be?

I am rather new at body building. I just wonder what everyone says the time limit should be. I started a year ago and am currently working out about 45 minutes to an hour at a time. Is this similar to your time frame?

Off Road 12-12-2011 08:53 PM

Yup, same here.

Shadowschmadow 12-13-2011 07:58 AM

Keep things simple. Go in to the gym to do what you need to do, and get out. Don't take substantial breaks in between sets, and don't dick around. If you do that, and have a halfway decent program, you shouldn't really be able to exceed an hour unless you're throwing cardio in there.

Disciple X 12-13-2011 08:10 AM

I disagree with the hour limit stuff...

Sometimes my workouts take 3 hours. Most days around 2. I take long rest periods and dont rush anything. My progress has been great. Of course, i am strictly powerlifting, and my only goal is to move big weight, so i make sure i am fully rested before i hit another set.

Shadowschmadow 12-13-2011 08:35 AM

3 hours IMO is pretty extensive. I know of quite a few lifters who put up big numbers in half the time. No offense because I'm not trying to shoot what you do down by any means; you can train however you want for all I care.

Personally, the only time I would recommend extended breaks is when you're going for new maxes and 1RMs. And that's balls to the walls, all out, 1 time kind of effort.

Soldier 12-13-2011 08:46 AM

It's extremely rare for me to go over an hour. I did Saturday just because I was getting a 1rm for squats followed by some upper body work.