Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Muscle Building and Bodybuilding (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Where to start (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7695)

lots789 10-25-2011 09:23 AM

Where to start

Hello everyone,

I don't know where to start. I keep getting bigger and bigger and am starting to get depressed. Right now I weigh close to 280 at 5 foot 7 and don't know how fast to lose the weight and how to workout. I want to look better but don't have to look like a Greek god or anything.

Abaddon 10-25-2011 09:24 AM

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

What have you tried so far?

Off Road 10-25-2011 09:36 AM

If your goal is to lose weight/fat, then your diet will be most important. Exercise is important too, but not nearly as important as the food you eat. I'm not a diet expert, so I'll leave that to the others, but you should lose weight pretty rapidly at first and then it will slow down. You didn't gain it overnight, don't expect to lose it overnight.

J_Byrd 10-25-2011 09:43 AM

I wish I could give you some solid advice on diet, but their are much more qualified people on this board. I feel that the diet is key. Low impact exercise, and diet are the only ways to go. Stay away from all the snake oil sales people who will tell you that you can lose 30lbs in a month and stuff like that.

lots789 10-25-2011 09:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Abaddon (Post 183479)
Hi, and welcome to the forum.

What have you tried so far?

Eat less and that's about it. I reduced my portion sizes but I had several bad days. My job is stressful and physical and all I want to do when I get home is eat.

Soldier 10-25-2011 09:49 AM

Welcome!