Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Muscle Building and Bodybuilding (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Box Squat Tips (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7110)

Carl1174 08-19-2011 07:55 AM

Box Squat Tips

I will be doing Box Squats (well to a bench) and havent really done them before so i wanted some good tips for when i do them.

ie: How far back to have the bench, how heavy to start at (in relation to a normal squat), how long to pause onthe box (as I have heard everything to touch and go and basically sitting down for a second or two then coming back up).

I want to get form on all my lifts really nailed down, as (I think) ill be doing a strength based program, or powerbuilding at least, when i come back off vacation and Im goning to really push weight progression.

Any help from you guys would be great

Carl.

Abaddon 08-19-2011 07:59 AM

I'm no expert, having only done them twice now, but I reckon you shouldn't have to reduce the weight you'd normally load up - at least after a warmup set or two - and might even be able to squat a little bit more in your first session.

The time you spend seated is dependent on how long you want to hold that tension in your core before standing up again; the longer you leave it, the weaker you'll feel when you then try and stand, and there will be even more propensity to lean forward as you rise.

BendtheBar 08-19-2011 08:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Carl1174 (Post 163036)

ie: How far back to have the bench, how heavy to start at (in relation to a normal squat), how long to pause onthe box (as I have heard everything to touch and go and basically sitting down for a second or two then coming back up).