Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Muscle Building and Bodybuilding (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   noob lookin for some direction (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5135)

lurker 01-12-2011 08:28 PM

noob lookin for some direction

hello everyone, glad i stumbled across this forum. seems to be a pretty good place to pick up knowledge. anyway, a little background of myself. im 28, been lifting for almost a year now with alot of dedication but not much direction. now that i have some experience and a know a little about the sport, id like to take my training to the next level. over the past year, iv managed to move froma 5'8" and a pathetic 123lb, 10 months later to 153 where i am now. im pleased with my progress, but i know if i want to continue to grow i need to set a real path and not just lift cause i can. the powerbuilding style that iv found alot of info about here seems to be the direction id like to take. in a perfect world, id look like mike mentzer, so i use that as motivation. anyways, over the past couple days i have done alot of reading through different articles and and threads here on this site and it seems that a basic fullbody routine with big compound movements is the way to go. any ideas of which routine to follow to make good strength and size gains? im not so concerned with being "ripped" as i just want to be big and muscular. ideally at my height, id like to be a healthy 175-180. my goal for this, my 2nd year training is to put on a quality 15lb. so any advice or direction would be greatly appreciated

BendtheBar 01-12-2011 08:35 PM

Welcome to the forum Lurker. Congrats on the progress you've made over the last year.

Before we start suggesting specific workouts I want to ask you about your experience with lifts like deadlifts, squats, bench press, dips, pullups, overhead presses and some of the other basics.