Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Muscle Building and Bodybuilding (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   so I tried full body workouts (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4756)

dildobaggins 11-24-2010 08:28 AM

so I tried full body workouts

I knwo I'm new here but I have to get this off my chest. I'm a beginner so I thought I'd give this method a try, and oh boy do I regret it. I don't care if you are a beginner, an intermediate or an advanced lifter, never EEEEEEver do a full body workout three days a week. Stick to training each muscle group once a week. Trust me I've had to learn the hard way this past week that that is whats best. Anyhow for those beginners thinking of doing full body work outs take my advice and stick to split training.

Omar 11-24-2010 09:29 AM

Why do you not recommend full body workouts? They appear to be the standard routine prescribed for beginners. I've been following the writing of Casey Butt who wrote that even advanced bodybuilders used them in the off-season before drugs became widely used and saved split routines prior to competition. To make them work beyond the novice stage, you need to vary intensity through the week, e.g. the schedule on a 3-day a week full body programme might look like this: 1st workout 5RM, 2nd workout 15RM, 3rd workout 10RM, 4th workout repeat cycle with a little more weight.

dildobaggins 11-24-2010 09:48 AM

You can't get enough work in for arms, abs, traps and other small muscles. You're tired after doing compounds and would have to workout 2 hours a day.

glwanabe 11-24-2010 10:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dildobaggins (Post 95906)