Muscle and Brawn Forums

Go Back   Muscle and Brawn Forums > Training > Muscle Building and Bodybuilding
Mark Forums Read
Register Articles Members List Search Today's Posts

Notices

Muscle Building and Bodybuilding Topics related to muscle building, bodybuilding, including training and fullbody workouts. If you are looking for great advice on gaining muscle this forum is for you.

Old 11-24-2010, 08:28 AM   #1
dildobaggins
New Brawn
Points: 669, Level: 13 Points: 669, Level: 13 Points: 669, Level: 13
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

dildobaggins is off to a bad start
Default so I tried full body workouts

I knwo I'm new here but I have to get this off my chest. I'm a beginner so I thought I'd give this method a try, and oh boy do I regret it. I don't care if you are a beginner, an intermediate or an advanced lifter, never EEEEEEver do a full body workout three days a week. Stick to training each muscle group once a week. Trust me I've had to learn the hard way this past week that that is whats best. Anyhow for those beginners thinking of doing full body work outs take my advice and stick to split training.
dildobaggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-24-2010, 09:29 AM   #2
Omar
Points: 108, Level: 2 Points: 108, Level: 2 Points: 108, Level: 2

Training Type: Fullbody
Fav Exercise: Squats
Fav Supp: I don't use any
Omar is off to a bad start

Why do you not recommend full body workouts? They appear to be the standard routine prescribed for beginners. I've been following the writing of Casey Butt who wrote that even advanced bodybuilders used them in the off-season before drugs became widely used and saved split routines prior to competition. To make them work beyond the novice stage, you need to vary intensity through the week, e.g. the schedule on a 3-day a week full body programme might look like this: 1st workout 5RM, 2nd workout 15RM, 3rd workout 10RM, 4th workout repeat cycle with a little more weight.