Muscle and Brawn Forums

Go Back   Muscle and Brawn Forums > Training > Muscle Building and Bodybuilding

Notices

Muscle Building and Bodybuilding Topics related to muscle building, bodybuilding, including training and fullbody workouts. If you are looking for great advice on gaining muscle this forum is for you.

Old 07-14-2009, 05:17 AM   #1
maokoto
New Brawn

maokoto is off to a bad start
Default Front squats & training at home

I have been training at home for around 4 years and am very happy with the progress. I can bench more than my bodyweight with dumbells for reps, Romanian deadlift with 1,5x Bodyweight for reps...all fine.

However I am lacking a bit at leg development. I have no space for a squat rack on my home gym, what I do right now is to power-clean the bar (with horrible technique) and do olympic-style front squats.

The problem is the weight I can clean limits the weight I can squat (right now I am front squatting around 95% of my bodyweight for 6 reps). I like to train with relatively low reps (5-8) and the idea of doing long series of squats doesnīt appeal to me. Also I am powercleaning near my maximum to get the bar up, wich is difficult and unsafe when it is the last set of squats and my legs are sore...

I have tried lunges, with not much results. Even hack squats with barbell, but i feel too awkward doing them.

Any other sugerences? (apart from joining a gym or buying a squat rack)
Old 07-14-2009, 05:31 AM   #2
BendtheBar
Bearded Beast of Duloc
Max Brawn
Points: 1,554,481, Level: 100 Points: 1,554,481, Level: 100 Points: 1,554,481, Level: 100
Activity: 49% Activity: 49% Activity: 49%

Extreme Mini Golf Champion!Tournaments Won: 6

Training Exp: 20+ years
Training Type: Powerbuilding
Fav Exercise: Deadlift
Fav Supp: Butter