Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Muscle Building and Bodybuilding (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Fullbody workouts HIT style? (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12379)

70sBB 02-02-2013 11:17 AM

Fullbody workouts HIT style?

I have been running a fullbody workout for over 8 months right now and am making what I consider good progress. Would it be ok for me to experiment with adding in more exercises per day? Right now I do 2 or 3 big exercises to start a training day and no more than 5 lifts total. I've seen the Steve Reeve's type of workouts with more exercises and they look fun.

Would it be ok to add exercises but drop sets per exercise for a while?

Soldier 02-02-2013 11:25 AM

Absolutely. In another thread Fazc talked about a program he did where he did a fullbody workout 3 times a week with 10x3 for every exercise and tons of different movements, all done in about an hour with very little rest between sets.

Experiment with it. If your goal is bodybuilding, then HIT style workouts with lots of different exercises could work very well with fullbody training. Going fullbody is a great way to experiment with increasing your frequency on each bodypart, and figuring out what type of frequency works for you will be great to move forward in your training.

Off Road 02-02-2013 11:39 AM

Add stuff SLOWLY! Don't mess (too much) with something that's working well.

Soldier 02-02-2013 11:52 AM

You've inspired me. I thought I'd come up with a plan for what I would do if I wanted to try what you're talking about.
High bar, close stance squat- Work to a heavy set of 7-10
Bench press- Work up to a heavy set of 7-10
All other exercises done to failure at 10-20 reps, with a second set performed if the weight is not enough to reach failure by 20.
leg curls
chest supported or T-bar rows
calf press
upright rows
leg extensions
close grip rows
SLDL