Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Fitness & Health (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Ibuprofen (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11021)

ramm 09-04-2012 01:37 PM

Ibuprofen

How many ibuprofen can I take in a day without overdosing? Is it safe to take long term?

Chillen 09-04-2012 01:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ramm (Post 273764)
How many ibuprofen can I take in a day without overdosing? Is it safe to take long term?

When in doubt read the label. In addition, do a Google search on the medication. Never leave yourself any doubt in the content limit in 24 hours.

Peace and happiness,

Don

bruteforce 09-04-2012 02:52 PM

Depends on the dosage. I would not recommend exceeding the guidelines on the bottle without a doctor's suggestion. I'm not a doctor. My advice does not constitute advice from a medical professional.

That being said, I take 800mg at a time 5x a day when I need it with no ill effects. I've been prescribed 3-4 times this amount before and it was fine. This is my experience, yours may be different.

_J_ 09-04-2012 04:41 PM

I'm with bruteforce. When I need it, I take 800mg several times per day, but only for 2 or 3 days at a time.

The danger in ibuprofen is that a lot of it can negatively effect the stomach lining and cause internal bleeding. Different people can take different amounts and be fine. I can usually take a ton, but my wife cannot take ANY ibuprofen or any other NSAID (like aspirin, naproxin, etc) without it causing gastro-intestinal bleeding. So go slow at first and see how your body reacts.

relix 09-04-2012 05:27 PM

My doc told me that it was often used long term for people in pain. He said that I could take 3 to 4 every 4 to 6 hours, and not to exceed 12 in a 24 hour period.

exskinny 09-05-2012 01:58 PM