Muscle and Brawn Forums

Muscle and Brawn Forums (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Board (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Relentless write up (http://www.muscleandbrawn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13039)

Jen 03-24-2013 09:09 PM

Relentless write up

This was a 12 hour meet, that felt like 5 minutes. It was so great to see everyone, and for this newbie, amazing to share the platform with some powerlifting legends.

BTB was kind enough to come to town and help me through this meet, as he has done for every meet I've been in. I could never thank him enough.

On an interesting side note -- This meet landed on the 1 year anniversary (to the day) that I started lifting.

Squats:

My first squat attempt was what should be a very easy weight for me -- 232 lbs. Instead, I shot forward coming out of the hole and almost took a header. Nerves.

2nd attempt at the same weight went very well -- 3 white lights.

3rd attempt was a meet PR attempt -- 259, Steve was calling my depth. The weight felt light, I felt really good, Steve called me Up, I got 2 reds for depth. I trust Steve completely, I'd ask him to call my depth every day of the week and twice on Sunday.

Bench (wearing a Metal Ace)

** these are all PR's, but my other meets were RAW benches, so the PR doesn't mean much here

160 -- good lift

180 -- good lift

193 -- miss, got it off the chest, then almost dumped it on my face, lol. Thank you spotters!

Deads

287 -- good lift

303 -- good lift

320 (meet PR attempt) -- couldn't lock it out -- nothing left in the tank!

The meet started at 9 am -- awards were given at 9 pm. There were 90 lifters in this meet. There were no breaks, which was fine for the lifters, we had about 3 hours between events... I just felt bad for the announcer, table help, etc, lol.