View Single Post
Old 10-28-2009, 02:29 PM   #16
AthleteCreator
Trollin'
Uber Brawn
Points: 962, Level: 16 Points: 962, Level: 16 Points: 962, Level: 16
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

AthleteCreator is new to the forumAthleteCreator is new to the forum

Aye-yae-yae (is that you spell that? lol). I think we're actually saying/arguing the same point, but maybe I didn't do well trying to explain it. Let's see if I can clean this up in 200 words or less...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuscleandBrawn View Post
Don't buy that, so laugh at me.

CNS fatigue can prevent proper firing of muscles, but I don't believe you have to kill yourself and your CNS to achieve slow, steady strength and muscle gains...especially as a beginning trainee.
Beginning lifters make most of their strength and muscle gains the first couple years. These gains are fast and easy, when training correctly.

I'm no CNS expert, but I really don't believe much CNS conditioning is required.

And I may be completely nuts, but I believe that CNS conditioning becomes more of a concern AFTER these initial gains, when the body draws closer to its natural strength and size limits.
What I was trying to say is that your CNS controls how many muscle fibers are allowed to fire at one time. I excluded beginners in my argument (and didn't tell you that, I guess; again, ha ha ha ha) because you are correct, their gains will most certainly be muscular.

Your argument is based on beginners; my argument was for intermediate to advanced people. Maybe "condition" was the wrong word to use too. How about "prime". As in, you need to prime the CNS as part of a good warm-up before you hit your working sets. So, if you're doing high rep stuff, you need to prime your CNS and get it ready to do high-rep working sets. Any better?

Quote:

Ouch.

Loaded Insulin Surges???

High-Threshold Hypertrophy (HTH)???

...and, and all supplement diet.