View Single Post
Old 03-27-2010, 06:20 AM   #2
BendtheBar
Bearded Beast of Duloc
Max Brawn
Points: 1,554,481, Level: 100 Points: 1,554,481, Level: 100 Points: 1,554,481, Level: 100
Activity: 49% Activity: 49% Activity: 49%

Training Exp: 20+ years
Training Type: Powerbuilding
Fav Exercise: Deadlift
Fav Supp: Butter
BendtheBar is one with Crom!BendtheBar is one with Crom!BendtheBar is one with Crom!BendtheBar is one with Crom!BendtheBar is one with Crom!BendtheBar is one with Crom!BendtheBar is one with Crom!BendtheBar is one with Crom!BendtheBar is one with Crom!BendtheBar is one with Crom!BendtheBar is one with Crom!

I have some knowledge. Before I heard of C&P, I was playing around with a form of escalating density with bulldozer.

I would rep out and use more rest the deeper I got into muscle fatigue with a weight. At the time I didn't know that bulldozer was similar to EDT, but down the road I learned that they are in the same family tree.

I was also using a form of it with deadlifts, trying to do as many singles within a given time as possible.

I know some about PFT as well. I've read a few books by John Little. His static contraction stuff is simply foolish. Hold as much weight as you can in a contracted position for one second - perform 6 exercises like this. Workout over. But the partials make sense. John is a little "out there", but has some scientific basis for his approach. He doesn't mix his science well with "body health", in that he seems to have tunnel vision about how these systems might impact the joints/connective tissue. His contraction books are pretty much straight linear progression, in that he advocates adding more and more and more. On paper this sounds good, but in essence John is telling you to hold in a contracted position as much weight as you can, and for exercises like shrugs, you can hold much more then you can deadlift. Anyway, avoid his contraction stuff like the plague.