Liftin' heavy
Uber Brawn
Points: 1,278, Level: 19 Points: 1,278, Level: 19 Points: 1,278, Level: 19
Activity: 61% Activity: 61% Activity: 61%

Training Exp: +9 years
Training Type: Fullbody
Fav Exercise: Bench Press
Fav Supp: ANIMAL PAK
MVP is a dedicated contributorMVP is a dedicated contributorMVP is a dedicated contributorMVP is a dedicated contributorMVP is a dedicated contributorMVP is a dedicated contributorMVP is a dedicated contributorMVP is a dedicated contributorMVP is a dedicated contributorMVP is a dedicated contributorMVP is a dedicated contributor

OK so I have some very knowledgeable guys posting in this thread, which is exactly what I wanted to see.

Quote:
Just a couple of things I want to ask about. I am far from an expert on cardio conditioning or endurance, but I thought that doing things like sprints was responsible for increasing stroke volume and therefore decreasing resting heart rate. I was under the impression that the more long distance endurance work was responsible more for increasing a-vod (bodies ability to use the oxygen in the blood) in your slow twitch fibers as well as increasing mitochondria count.
From what I remember learning, and I could be wrong, was that the anaerobic glycosis stimulates stronger walls of the heart rather than increasing in the inferior dimensions like aerobic conditioning. I could be wrong, but I'm pretty sure that's the way ACE taught anyway.

One of the other reasons I choose aerobic cardio is the hormonal friendly exercise. With aerobic cardio, I will be using less catabolic hormones, which is essential during a cut phase.

Quote:
I was thinking the EPOC created from sprinting and barbell complexes was going to create a larger overall calorie consumption over the day, when compared with slower long distance cardio? Again I am no expert on this sort of thing, just throwing a few things I had been told. There is a very good chance that I was told the wrong things, and so on.