Soldier
Max Brawn
Points: 14,594, Level: 78 Points: 14,594, Level: 78 Points: 14,594, Level: 78
Activity: 89% Activity: 89% Activity: 89%

Training Exp: On and off for 17 years.
Training Type: ARGH!!!
Fav Exercise: Bosu kickback pistols
Fav Supp: Crack on a trisket
Soldier is an elite memberSoldier is an elite memberSoldier is an elite memberSoldier is an elite memberSoldier is an elite memberSoldier is an elite memberSoldier is an elite memberSoldier is an elite memberSoldier is an elite memberSoldier is an elite memberSoldier is an elite member

Quote:
Originally Posted by powerlifter62 View Post
I've been lifting for over 30 years, and as her father, her health and safety come first to me, so I am her "real" coach.

Yes you are right that kids often bring their knees together. We (my wife and I) taught her to overcome that tendency. Doing that is a bad thing, not a good thing.

In criticizing her form, keep 2 things in mind. First, she is doing powerlifting style squats (obviously) which have the bar lower on the back, and thereby bending somewhat forward, than would be true with more conventional types of squats. Actually, by powerlifting standards, her form is decent. Second, form does tend to degrade at higher weights. The third one broke a world record, for the weight class, not just for her age. Certainly, by any reasonable standards, that qualifies as a high weight.
1. Welcome to M&B.

2. Most of the regulars here are very knowledgable, including knowing what a powerlifting style squat is.