View Single Post
Old 12-17-2010, 12:45 PM   #2
glwanabe
Max Brawn
Points: 15,106, Level: 79 Points: 15,106, Level: 79 Points: 15,106, Level: 79
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

glwanabe is a master memberglwanabe is a master memberglwanabe is a master memberglwanabe is a master memberglwanabe is a master memberglwanabe is a master memberglwanabe is a master memberglwanabe is a master memberglwanabe is a master memberglwanabe is a master memberglwanabe is a master member

My Resume

I started lifting at the age of 15 with a dept. store plastic concrete weight set, and a bench. I was a very skinny kid with no real strength, and I did not like that.

Some show was on talking about movies that had caused a stir that year, and Pumping Iron was one of those shows. The clip they showed was of Arnold doing concentration curls, and flexing his arms. I WANTED TO LOOK LIKE THAT! That was it, I would do that thing, and be a bodybuilder.

I turned 16 and I already had job. I was making 3.50hr at 16yrs of age. This was in 1978, and that was good money. I bought Arnolds, Education of a Bodybuilder, and the book Pumping Iron. The bookstore was having a book signing with Arnold about three weeks later. I was not going to miss the chance to meet him. Alas, he left and hour early due to low turnout. I was sad.

I lived in those books, and worked hard, but not smart. I progressed, but would have done better with a better plan of attack.

High School my Senior year, and that plan would be implemented. i had weightlifting class, that focused on basics, and progression. I made solid gains that year, and left high school weighing 135lbs, benching 220, squatting 285, deadlifting 385, clean and press 185, and a few other lifts that I forget.

I lifted on and off for the next 8 years, but made no real progress. Insert having a life right here, and other obligations. Thats a different story